Deoghar is the main city of the Deoghar District in the Santhal Pargana division of the state of Jharkhand. It is the 5th largest city of Jharkhand. Deoghar was earlier part of Dumka district.The district was formed on 1 June 1983 by separating Deoghar sub-division of the erstwhile Dumka district. There are two sub-divisions in this district; Deoghar Sadar and Madhupur. The Judgeship of Deoghar was created on 26th May 1984 and Sri Sachidanand Jha was the 1st District & Sessions Judge.